The NJCAA recently announced the recipients of academic excellence for the 2019-2020 academic year.  The TCCAA is proud to announce that 144 students were recognized for their achievements as they were named to the NJCAA All Academic Team.  They are three teams based on the student's overall GPA.  Those named to the first team carried a 4.0 GPA while second team members carried a 3.8 to 3.99 GPA.  Third team members had an overall GPA of 3.6-3.79 GPA.

Chattanooga State had 19 athletes recognized for the year.  Named to the first team were baseball players Brandon Bowling & Micheal Spear, softball players Megan Ackerman, Kaylin Fugatt, Lakyn Moore & Madison Morris, and volleyball players Delaney Bridges & Damonique Givens.  Second team members were softball players Savannah Thomas, Olivia Whaley, and volleyball players Madyun Steele.  Baseball players Austin Dunn & Jacob Holton, women's basketball player Shaquala Walton, softball players Mabry Carpenter, Bailey Farrow & Savannah Talley, and volleyball players Bailey Orr & Dakota Rawiszer were named to the third team.

 Cleveland State had 21 athletes honored by the national organization.  Making the first team were Brennan Davis, Bryce Jenkins, & Jared Young of the baseball team along with men's basketball player Demonte Person, women's cross country's Jordan Wagers, and volleyball's Celie Patterson.  Members of the second team were baseball players Nathan Camp, Bradley Hayes, & Stokes Needham as well as Seth Ward of the golf team, and softball player Kaylee Hughes. Third team members were Jack Patterson & Ryan Wilson of the baseball team, golfer Colbe Cagle, softball players Katherine Cechini, Macy Smith, Hannah Turner, & Anna Yell, and volleyball players Hannah Collins, Aly Lemons, & Macey Smith.

Columbia State had 15 athletes honored with selection.  First team members were Luke Flatt, Steven Minter, and Ryan Smith of the baseball team.  Announced to the second team were Collin Huntley, Brandon Johnson, Camryn Kennedy, & Wade Richardson of the baseball team, and Chloe Etherington, Olivia Holt, and Kelsie Vaughn of the women's soccer team.  Third team selections were David Wilson of the baseball team, soccer players morgan Nichols & Madison Tennant, and softball players Alyssa Brown & Jaiden Cox.

Ten athletes from Dyersburg State were recognized led by first team selections Madison Luttreel & Lilyan Williams of the women's soccer team, and Mikayla Vincent from softball.  Named to the second team were Harley Kinshaw from baseball, Sinetra Jones from women's basketball, and Currie McIntyre from softball.  Third team honorees were Evan Singleton from women's basketball along with soccer players Kirby Bradshaw, Hannah McCroskey, and Tyrdrina Pierce.

Jackson State had six athletes honored led by first team member Grant Crihfield of the baseball team.  Taylor Sharped of women's basketball was honored on third team along with softball players Megan Bates, Caroline Lane, Shayla Phillips, and Marlee Woodward.

Motlow State had ten students named with men's basketball player Cameron Welch and women's soccer player Cassidy Conner honored on first team.  announced to the second team were soccer players Ashton Miller & Ashley Woods along with Autumn Davis from the softball team.  Third team selections were Trevor Muzzi of baseball, soocer players Sydney Degurse & Annie Kate Gibson, and Abi Jone & Jami Stinson from softball.

Roane State had 12 athletes honored as baseball players Brantley Ellis & Nick Spardone along with Micah Fallin & jacob naylor named first team.  Brandon Langenburg & Jackson Odette of baseball along with Lauren Lawson of softball were named to the second team.  Third team members were Heisman Austin & Montana Dickerson of baseball, Seth Treece of golf, and kara Bradley & Madison Lamon from softball.

Southwest Tennessee were honored with 11 athletes named to the All Academic team.  Baseball player Tanner Kimminau and softball player Ashton Mauldon were named to the first team.  Second team honorees were baseball player Curt McDonald, women's basketball player Stephanie Gregory, and softball players Haley Cook, Madison Norris & Makayla Pugh.  Jarret Fowlkes & Hunter Hudson of the baseball team along with softball player Shelby Carpenter and women's soccer player Regan Patty were named to the third team.

Twelve athletes from Volunteer State were honored as baseball players Aaron Johnson and Justin St. Armour were named to the first team.  Dakota Danner of baseball, Jared Ward of men's basketball, and softball players Jordan Stahlecker & Abigail Wilson were named second team.  Third team selections were Blake Brewer, Sam Cooper, Dylan Forbes, Isaac Gleaves & Ian Johnson of baseball along with women's basketball player Bailey Ledbetter.

Walters State had 27 athletes honored for their academic prowess.  First team selections were Gehrig Mosiello of baseball, Nicholas Noble of men's cross country, Jenica Brown of softball, and volleyball's Hannah Daniel, Jania Hill, Amanda Singleton & Ashley Morrison.  Baseball's Bryan Persons & Bryan Max Riemer, men's basketball's Jared Ward, men's cross country's Chance Collins, Alaina Morris & Kallyn newport of softball, and volleyball's Courtney Dotson & Gracie-Ray Smith were named to the second team.  Third team members were Jared Culp, Benjamin Joyce, Alberto Osuna-Sanchez & Andrew Romanoli of baseball, women's cross country's Karli Yarid & Breanna Scearce, golfers Andrew Linkous & Zachary Wood, and softball's Sydney Fox, Santanna Hall, Jessica Odom & Sydni Owens.

In total, 38 TCCAA athletes were named to the first team with 4.0 GPAs.  Forty-two of the athletes were named to the second team, and 64 were named to the third team.  Along with that, seven teams were named All-Academic teams by maintaining a team GPA higher than a 3.0.