Javion Hamlet drives in last year's NJCAA National Tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas
Javion Hamlet drives in last year's NJCAA National Tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas

The Motlow State men's basketball team was voted by the league coaches to repeat as the conference champion this year.  They also recieved a preseason ranking of #9 in the NJCAA National Poll which was released on October 26. Southwest Tennessee was voted to finish 2nd, while Walters, Columbia, and chattanooga round out the top 5.

Motlow kicks off their season just like the rest of the league this week, with the Bucks starting the year against Georgia Highlands which is a matchup from the National Tournament this past March.  Motlow is led by returners Javion Hamlet, Rashawn Fredericks, and Isaiah Hart all of whom were selected All-Conference last year.  Other sophomore returners are Dillon smith, Kevonte Corley, Chad Emmons, Kin Webster, and Leo Castillo.  Sophomore transfers joining the Bucks are David Fraser and Nick Marshall while Anthony Yarbrough, Hayden Edmondson, Joelah Solomons, Justin Hill, Derrick Rayford, Zaire Swaby, and Joshua Hernandez will be freshmen.

Southwest will have returners Zavian Jackson, Trey Dawkins, Donnie Malone, and Hunter Shelton.  They will be helped by the addition of transfers Michael St. John, Damassi Moore, Martavius Wilson, Khalil Spencer, and Yuryk Lazard.  Freshman joining the Saluquis will be Carlos Marshall, Xavier Davenport, Shakem Johnson, J.Sebian Brown, and Malik Anderson.

Walters will be bolstered by the return of Elijah Cooper, Dane Farrow, Malik McConnell, Dejaunta Ross, and Eric Turner.  They have added transfers Tyree Beason, Randall Broddie, Tyler byrd, Bamba N'diaye, Alfonzo Peoples, Miles Thomas, and Jean-Michael Tine.  Incoming freshman will be Tyler Arnold, Joquan Brooks, Kevin Cameron, Lydell Gefforard, De Monte Person, and Chavel Glover.

Columbia State will be led by returning players KJ Lesure, Isaiah Crowley, Tavon King, Justin Slocum, and Isaiah Blacksmith.  They added two transfers in Chance Anderson and Marcus Mitchell.  Freshman looking to contribute for the Chargers are Trey Foster, Jamel Cleveland, and Jeremiah Alexander.

Chattanooga State will lean on sophomores Maleek Taylor, Roger Davis, and Kalin Johnson.  The Tigers have added transfers Raekwon Long, AJ Morris, and Arab Abdi this season along with freshmen Elijah Gibson, Jaden Rodriguez, JaQuez Johnson, and Damon Johnson.

Roane State was selected sixth in the voting and will count on sophomores William Johnson, Garrett Crandall, Geevanty Gee, Ricky Shearman, and Tyler Thompson.  They also added Blake Ervin, Jeremy Joyner, Jaron Hoover, and Aaron Nyike as transfers.  the Raiders will also count on freshman DeMierre Black, Bowden Lynn, Austin Brooks, and Malachi Gayle.

Cleveland State was selected seventh and will return Tevin Olison, Cam Copeland, Victor Curry, and Romero Hill from last season.  They added transfers Jordan Brown and Jose Martinez while the Cougars will rely on incoming freshmen Collin Herron, Mohanna Sanders, and Dalaino Walker to contribute this season.

Jackson State will have only one returner this season in DeAngelo Hall, but will get help from transfers Jay Howard, Keith Wilson, and Ty Taylor.  Incoming freshman for the Generals will be Kavion Hancock, Kemontre Jones, Ethan Jones, Jamehl Williams, Zach Morgan, and Victor Lacey.

Volunteer State has Alex xhaw returning with transfer Byron Dean as the only sophomores on the roster.  Incoming freshmen for the Pioneers are William Coverdale, George Stanberry, Aspen Bush, Chase Hawkins, Cameron Roach, NaDonnis Easley, Jabori Murphy, Resean Taylor, Jaden Chumley, Elijah Shaw, Jordan Buchanan, Donovan Boatwright, and Kievin Rimmer.

Dyersburg State will have Donovan Wilson and Tevin Banks returning fo the Eagles and will count on freshman Myron mcKinney and Daryl Houston this season.